Skip To Main Content

Educational standards describe what students should know and be able to do in each subject in each grade. In California, the State Board of Education decides on the standards for all students, from kindergarten through high school.

English Language Arts/English Language Development & Mathematics

A number of states across the nation have adopted the same standards since 2010 for English and mathematics. These standards are called the Common Core State Standards (CCSS). Having the same standards helps all students get a good education, even if they change schools or move to a different state. Teachers, parents, and education experts designed the standards to prepare students for success in college and the workplace. The California State Board of Education adopted these new standards in 2010. In additon to the content standards in English Langauge Arts & mathematics, the California State Board of Education adopted the revised California English Language Development Standards on November 7, 2012. 

Content standards were designed to encourage the highest achievement of every student, by defining the knowledge, concepts, and skills that students should acquire at each grade level.  In addition to the content standards adopted by the California State Board of Education, the Instructional Quality Commission developed Curriculum Frameworks to provide guidelines for implementation.

See the English Langauge Arts & English Langauge Development Content Standards and Curriculum Framework  

See the Mathematics Content Standards and Curriculum Framework 

Read more about the SMFCSD focus on mathematics

Next Generation Science Standards

On September 4, 2013, the California State Board of Education (SBE) adopted the Next Generation Science Standards for California Public Schools, Kindergarten through Grade Twelve (CA NGSS) as required by California Education Code 60605.85. The NGSS Appendices A-M were also adopted to assist teachers in the implementation of the new science standards and to aid in the development of the new science curriculum framework.

See the California Next Generation Science Standards  

Integrated Technology Standards

The Common Core State Standards sets high expectations for the use of technology for both students and teachers. The technology standards are integrated within many of the English language arts standards in the Common Core. This means students will be expected to use technology as a tool for learning. The document below lists the technology standards that are embedded in the Common Core Standards by grade level.

CCSS Integrated Technology Standards